The Rural Electrification Division is one of the three divisions in the Department of Energy Affairs. The following are the core functions of the division:

  • To increase electrification access for people in peri-urban and rural areas as part of Government’s effort to reduce poverty, transform rural economies, improve productivity and improve the quality of social services as stipulated under the Rural Electrification Act of 2004
  • To plan and implement the Malawi Rural Electrification Programme (MAREP) that also involves identifying as well as consolidating centres submitted by respective district councils across the country for electrification.
  • To review the electricity reform strategy in areas that affect MAREP in order to make them relevant to the changing circumstances in collaboration with the Policy and Planning Division
  • To manage the Rural Electrification Act.